Seminars for 2009-2010

Friday September 25, 2009 4:00 PM
Electrical Engineering Systems Seminar Series
Speaker: Michael Gastpar, UC Berkeley
Location: Moore B270
Tuesday September 29, 2009 3:00 PM
Institute for Quantum Information Seminar
Speaker: Kang-Kuen Ni, Unviersity of Colorado at Boulder
Location: Annenberg 105
Friday October 9, 2009 4:00 PM
Mixed-Signal, RF, and Microwave Seminar
Speaker: Joy Laskar, Georgia Institute of Technology
Location: Moore B270
Tuesday October 13, 2009 12:00 PM
IST Lunch Bunch
Speaker: Joel Tropp, Caltech
Location: Annenberg 105
Monday October 19, 2009 4:00 PM
Condensed Matter Physics Seminar Series
Speaker: Liza Huijse, University of Amsterdam
Location: Downs 107
Tuesday October 20, 2009 12:00 PM
Tuesday October 20, 2009 3:00 PM
Information Science and Technology Seminar
Speaker: Yonina Eldar, Technion, Israel Institute of Technology
Location: Annenberg 107
Tuesday October 20, 2009 3:00 PM
Institute for Quantum Information Seminar
Speaker: Joe Renes, Technical University of Darmstadt
Location: Annenberg 105
Thursday October 22, 2009 1:30 PM
Special Seminars in Applied Mathematics
Location: Firestone 306
Monday October 26, 2009 4:15 PM
Applied Mathematics Colloquium Series
Location: Guggenheim 133 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Tuesday October 27, 2009 12:00 PM
IST Lunch Bunch
Speaker: John Ledyard, Caltech
Location: Annenberg 105
Wednesday October 28, 2009 3:00 PM
Institute for Quantum Information Seminar
Speaker: Frank Vallentin, Delft University of Technology
Location: Annenberg 121
Friday October 30, 2009 9:30 AM
Friday October 30, 2009 4:00 PM
Mixed-Signal, RF, and Microwave Seminar
Speaker: Larry Larson, UC San Diego
Location: Moore B270
Monday November 2, 2009 4:15 PM
Applied Mathematics Colloquium Series
Location: Guggenheim 133 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Monday November 2, 2009 4:15 PM
Condensed Matter Physics Seminar Series
Speaker: Chris Laumann, Princeton University
Location: Downs 107
Tuesday November 3, 2009 12:00 PM
IST Lunch Bunch
Speaker: Leeat Yariv, Caltech
Location: Annenberg 105
Tuesday November 3, 2009 3:00 PM
Institute for Quantum Information Seminar
Speaker: Chris Heunen, University of Oxford
Location: Annenberg 105
Friday November 6, 2009 2:00 PM
Computation and Neural Systems Seminar
Speaker: Naotaka Fujii, BSI, RIKEN
Location: Beckman Behavioral Biology B180
Friday November 6, 2009 2:00 PM
Special Seminars in Applied Mathematics
Location: Firestone 306
Friday November 6, 2009 4:00 PM
Mixed-Signal, RF, and Microwave Seminar
Speaker: Bernhard E. Boser, UC Berkeley
Location: Moore B280
Monday November 9, 2009 3:00 PM
Thesis Seminar
Speaker: Klaus Wunderlich, Caltech
Location: Broad 100
Monday November 9, 2009 4:00 PM
Computation and Neural Systems Seminar
Speaker: Jean-Jacques Slotine, MIT
Location: Beckman Behavioral Biology B180
Monday November 9, 2009 4:15 PM
Applied Mathematics Colloquium Series
Location: Guggenheim 133 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Tuesday November 10, 2009 12:00 PM
IST Lunch Bunch
Speaker: Fletcher Wicker, the Aerospace Corporation
Location: Annenberg 105
Tuesday November 10, 2009 3:00 PM
Institute for Quantum Information Seminar
Speaker: John Kubiatowicz, UC Berkeley
Location: Annenberg 105
Wednesday November 11, 2009 4:00 PM
Electrical Engineering Systems Seminar Series
Speaker: Fred Daum, Raytheon
Location: Moore B270
Friday November 13, 2009 12:00 PM
Electrical Engineering Systems Seminar Series
Speaker: Edmund Yeh, Yale University
Location: Moore B270
Friday November 13, 2009 2:00 PM
Special Seminars in Applied Mathematics
Location: Firestone 306
Friday November 13, 2009 4:00 PM
Mixed-Signal, RF, and Microwave Seminar
Speaker: Arjang Hassibi, the University of Texas at Austin
Location: Moore B280
Monday November 16, 2009 4:15 PM
Applied Mathematics Colloquium Series
Location: Guggenheim 133 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Tuesday November 17, 2009 12:00 PM
IST Lunch Bunch
Speaker: Babak Hassibi, Caltech
Location: Annenberg 105
Tuesday November 17, 2009 3:00 PM
Institute for Quantum Information Seminar
Speaker: Ben Reichardt, University of Waterloo
Location: Annenberg 105
Tuesday November 17, 2009 4:00 PM
Center for the Mathematics of Information Seminar Series
Location: Annenberg 213
Wednesday November 18, 2009 4:00 PM
Monday November 23, 2009 4:00 PM
Computation and Neural Systems Seminar
Speaker: Brian Bland, University of Calgary
Location: Beckman Behavioral Biology B180
Monday November 23, 2009 4:15 PM
Applied Mathematics Colloquium Series
Location: Guggenheim 133 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Tuesday November 24, 2009 3:00 PM
Institute for Quantum Information Seminar
Speaker: Kaveh Khodjasteh, Dartmouth College
Location: Annenberg 105
Tuesday November 24, 2009 4:00 PM
Center for the Mathematics of Information Seminar Series
Location: Annenberg 213
Monday November 30, 2009 3:00 PM
Applied Mathematics Colloquium Series
Location: Guggenheim 133 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Tuesday December 1, 2009 12:00 PM
IST Lunch Bunch
Speaker: Alain Martin, Caltech
Location: Annenberg 105
Tuesday December 1, 2009 4:00 PM
Center for the Mathematics of Information Seminar Series
Location: Annenberg 213
Wednesday December 2, 2009 3:00 PM
Institute for Quantum Information Seminar
Speaker: Matthew Neeley, UC Santa Barbara
Location: Annenberg 107
Friday December 4, 2009 3:00 PM
Thesis Seminar
Speaker: Ming Gu, Caltech
Location: Beckman Behavioral Biology B180
Monday December 7, 2009 4:00 PM
Computation and Neural Systems Seminar
Speaker: Jun Yamamoto, MIT
Location: Beckman Behavioral Biology B180
Tuesday December 8, 2009 3:00 PM
Institute for Quantum Information Seminar
Speaker: Mohammad Hafezi, University of Maryland
Location: Annenberg 105
Tuesday December 8, 2009 4:00 PM
Center for the Mathematics of Information Seminar Series
Location: Annenberg 213
Wednesday December 9, 2009 4:15 PM
Computation and Neural Systems Seminar
Speaker: Kadharbatcha Saleem, National Institute of Mental Health
Location: Beckman Behavioral Biology B180
Thursday December 10, 2009 2:00 PM
Thesis Seminar
Speaker: Dirk Neumann, Caltech
Location: Beckman Behavioral Biology B180
Monday December 14, 2009 4:00 PM
Computation and Neural Systems Seminar
Speaker: Marcus Hutter, Australian National University
Location: Beckman Behavioral Biology B180
Tuesday December 15, 2009 3:00 PM
Institute for Quantum Information Seminar
Speaker: Spiros Michalakis, Los Alamos National Laboratory
Location: Annenberg 107
Tuesday January 5, 2010 3:00 PM
Institute for Quantum Information Seminar
Speaker: Paul Fendley, University of Virginia
Location: Annenberg 105
Monday January 18, 2010 4:00 PM
Computation and Neural Systems Seminar
Speaker: John Maunsell, Harvard University
Location: Beckman Behavioral Biology B180
Tuesday January 19, 2010 12:00 PM
IST Lunch Bunch
Speaker: Pietro Perona, Caltech
Location: Annenberg 105
Tuesday January 19, 2010 4:00 PM
Center for the Mathematics of Information Seminar Series
Location: Annenberg 213
Monday January 25, 2010 4:00 PM
Computation and Neural Systems Seminar
Speaker: Larry Wald, Massachusetts General Hospital
Location: Beckman Behavioral Biology B180
Monday January 25, 2010 4:15 PM
Applied Mathematics Colloquium Series
Location: Guggenheim 133 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Tuesday January 26, 2010 12:00 PM
IST Lunch Bunch
Speaker: David Rutledge, Caltech
Location: Annenberg 105
Tuesday January 26, 2010 3:00 PM
Institute for Quantum Information Seminar
Speaker: Crispin Gardiner, University of Otago
Location: Annenberg 105
Tuesday January 26, 2010 4:00 PM
Center for the Mathematics of Information Seminar Series
Location: Annenberg 213
Wednesday January 27, 2010 3:30 PM
Mixed-Signal, RF, and Microwave Seminar
Speaker: H.-S. Philip Wong, Stanford University
Location: Moore B270
Friday January 29, 2010 4:00 PM
Mixed-Signal, RF, and Microwave Seminar
Speaker: Rahul Sarpeshkar, MIT
Location: Moore B280
Monday February 1, 2010 4:15 PM
Applied Mathematics Colloquium Series
Location: Guggenheim 133 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Tuesday February 2, 2010 12:00 PM
IST Lunch Bunch
Speaker: John Preskill, Caltech
Location: Annenberg 105
Friday February 5, 2010 4:00 PM
Computation and Neural Systems Seminar
Speaker: Christiane Linster, Cornell University
Location: Beckman Behavioral Biology B180
Monday February 8, 2010 4:00 PM
Electrical Engineering Systems Seminar Series
Speaker: Christina Fragouli, Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne
Location: Moore B280
Monday February 8, 2010 4:15 PM
Applied Mathematics Colloquium Series
Location: Guggenheim 133 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Tuesday February 9, 2010 12:00 PM
IST Lunch Bunch
Speaker: Andrew J. Hanson, Caltech
Location: Annenberg 105
Tuesday February 9, 2010 3:00 PM
Institute for Quantum Information Seminar
Speaker: Sarvagya Upadhyay, University of Waterloo
Location: Annenberg 105
Wednesday February 10, 2010 4:00 PM
Electrical Engineering Systems Seminar Series
Speaker: Yi Jiang, Qualcomm, Inc.
Location: Moore B280
Friday February 12, 2010 2:00 PM
Computation and Neural Systems Seminar
Speaker: Michael I. Jordan, UC Berkeley
Location: Beckman Behavioral Biology B180
Tuesday February 16, 2010 12:00 PM
IST Lunch Bunch
Speaker: Stephanie Wehner, Caltech
Location: Annenberg 105
Tuesday February 16, 2010 4:15 PM
Applied Mathematics Colloquium Series
Location: Guggenheim 133 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Monday February 22, 2010 4:00 PM
Computation and Neural Systems Seminar
Speaker: Michael Jordan, UC Berkeley
Location: Beckman Behavioral Biology B180
Monday February 22, 2010 4:15 PM
Applied Mathematics Colloquium Series
Location: Guggenheim 133 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Tuesday February 23, 2010 12:00 PM
Tuesday February 23, 2010 3:00 PM
Institute for Quantum Information Seminar
Speaker: Joseph Avron, Technion-Israel Institute of Technology
Location: Annenberg 105
Friday February 26, 2010 4:00 PM
Mixed-Signal, RF, and Microwave Seminar
Speaker: Shan X. Wang, Stanford University
Location: Moore B280
Saturday February 27, 2010 9:00 AM
Location: Beckman Institute Auditorium
Monday March 1, 2010 4:15 PM
Applied Mathematics Colloquium Series
Location: Guggenheim 133 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Tuesday March 2, 2010 12:00 PM
IST Lunch Bunch
Speaker: Houman Owhadi, Caltech
Location: Annenberg 105
Tuesday March 2, 2010 4:00 PM
Center for the Mathematics of Information Seminar Series
Location: Annenberg 213
Wednesday March 3, 2010 11:30 AM
Friday March 5, 2010 4:00 PM
Mixed-Signal, RF, and Microwave Seminar
Speaker: Mark Rodwell, UC Santa Barbara
Location: Moore B280
Monday March 8, 2010 4:00 PM
Computation and Neural Systems Seminar
Speaker: Karl Deisseroth, Stanford University
Location: Kerckhoff 119
Tuesday March 9, 2010 3:00 PM
Institute for Quantum Information Seminar
Speaker: Gus Gutoski, University of Waterloo
Location: Annenberg 105
Tuesday March 9, 2010 4:00 PM
Center for the Mathematics of Information Seminar Series
Location: Annenberg 213
Thursday March 11, 2010 4:00 PM
Computation and Neural Systems Seminar
Speaker: Geoffrey Hinton, University of Toronto
Location: Annenberg 105
Friday March 12, 2010 2:00 PM
CACR Seminar Series
Speaker: Peter Kogge, University of Notre Dame
Location: Noyes 147 (J. Holmes Sturdivant Lecture Hall)
Friday March 12, 2010 4:00 PM
Mixed-Signal, RF, and Microwave Seminar
Speaker: Elad Alon, UC Berkeley
Location: Moore B280
Wednesday March 17, 2010 3:30 PM
Thesis Seminar
Speaker: Anusha Narayan, Caltech
Location: Beckman Behavioral Biology B180
Thursday March 18, 2010 4:00 PM
Thesis Seminar
Speaker: Kai Shen, Caltech
Location: Beckman Behavioral Biology B180
Tuesday March 23, 2010 3:00 PM
Institute for Quantum Information Seminar
Speaker: Peter Love, Haverford College
Location: Annenberg 105
Monday March 29, 2010 2:00 PM
Special Seminars in Applied Mathematics
Location: Firestone 306
Monday March 29, 2010 4:00 PM
Computation and Neural Systems Seminar
Speaker: Dana Angluin, Yale University
Location: Beckman Behavioral Biology B180
Tuesday March 30, 2010 3:00 PM
Institute for Quantum Information Seminar
Speaker: Peter Rabl, Harvard University
Location: Annenberg 107
Wednesday March 31, 2010 2:00 PM
Friday April 2, 2010 3:00 PM
Special Seminars in Applied Mathematics
Location: Firestone 306
Monday April 5, 2010 4:00 PM
Location: Cahill, Hameetman Auditorium
Monday April 5, 2010 4:15 PM
Applied Mathematics Colloquium Series
Location: Guggenheim 133 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Tuesday April 6, 2010 12:00 PM
IST Lunch Bunch
Speaker: Thomas Y. Hou, Caltech
Location: Annenberg 105
Friday April 9, 2010 2:00 PM
Special Seminars in Applied Mathematics
Location: Firestone 306
Monday April 12, 2010 4:00 PM
Computation and Neural Systems Seminar
Speaker: Emmanuel Mignot, Stanford University
Location: Beckman Behavioral Biology B180
Monday April 12, 2010 4:15 PM
Applied Mathematics Colloquium Series
Location: Guggenheim 133 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Tuesday April 13, 2010 12:00 PM
Tuesday April 13, 2010 3:00 PM
Institute for Quantum Information Seminar
Speaker: Tom Stace, University of Queensland
Location: Annenberg 107
Monday April 19, 2010 4:00 PM
Computation and Neural Systems Seminar
Speaker: David Heeger, New York University
Location: Beckman Behavioral Biology B180
Monday April 19, 2010 4:15 PM
Applied Mathematics Colloquium Series
Location: Guggenheim 133 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Tuesday April 20, 2010 12:00 PM
IST Lunch Bunch
Speaker: Oscar Bruno, Caltech
Location: Annenberg 105
Tuesday April 20, 2010 3:00 PM
Institute for Quantum Information Seminar
Speaker: Israel Klich, University of Virginia
Location: Annenberg 107
Friday April 23, 2010 4:00 PM
Mixed-Signal, RF, and Microwave Seminar
Speaker: Ken Crozier, Harvard University
Location: Moore B280
Monday April 26, 2010 4:15 PM
Applied Mathematics Colloquium Series
Location: Guggenheim 133 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Tuesday April 27, 2010 12:00 PM
IST Lunch Bunch
Speaker: K. Mani Chandy, Caltech
Location: Annenberg 105
Tuesday April 27, 2010 3:00 PM
Institute for Quantum Information Seminar
Speaker: Christina Kraus, Max Planck Institute for Quantum Optics
Location: Annenberg 107
Friday April 30, 2010 4:00 PM
Mixed-Signal, RF, and Microwave Seminar
Speaker: Supriyo Datta, Purdue University
Location: Moore B280
Monday May 3, 2010 4:15 PM
Applied Mathematics Colloquium Series
Location: Guggenheim 133 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Tuesday May 4, 2010 12:00 PM
IST Lunch Bunch
Speaker: Jure Leskovec, Stanford University
Location: Annenberg 105
Monday May 10, 2010 4:00 PM
Computation and Neural Systems Seminar
Speaker: Winrich Freiwald, The Rockefeller University
Location: Beckman Behavioral Biology B180
Monday May 10, 2010 4:15 PM
Applied Mathematics Colloquium Series
Location: Guggenheim 133 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Tuesday May 11, 2010 12:00 PM
IST Lunch Bunch
Speaker: Paul Camuti, Siemens Corporate Research
Location: Annenberg 105
Tuesday May 11, 2010 3:00 PM
Institute for Quantum Information Seminar
Speaker: Richard Harris, D-Wave Systems
Location: Annenberg 107
Wednesday May 12, 2010 12:15 PM
Institute for Quantum Information Seminar
Speaker: Mohammad Amin, D-Wave Systems
Location: Annenberg 213
Friday May 14, 2010 10:00 AM
Thesis Seminar
Speaker: David Yu Zhang, Caltech
Location: Moore B270
Monday May 17, 2010 4:00 PM
Computation and Neural Systems Seminar
Speaker: Cynthia Moss, University of Maryland
Location: Beckman Behavioral Biology B180
Monday May 17, 2010 4:15 PM
Applied Mathematics Colloquium Series
Location: Guggenheim 133 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Tuesday May 18, 2010 12:00 PM
IST Lunch Bunch
Speaker: David Wei, Facebook
Location: Annenberg 105
Tuesday May 18, 2010 3:00 PM
Institute for Quantum Information Seminar
Speaker: Pawel Wocjan, University of Central Florida
Location: Annenberg 107
Monday May 24, 2010 4:00 PM
Computation and Neural Systems Seminar
Speaker: Carlos Brody, Princeton University
Location: Beckman Behavioral Biology B180
Monday May 24, 2010 4:15 PM
Applied Mathematics Colloquium Series
Location: Guggenheim 133 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Tuesday May 25, 2010 12:00 PM
IST Lunch Bunch
Speaker: Daniel Obenshain, Caltech
Speaker: Evan Gawlik, Caltech
Location: Annenberg 105
Tuesday May 25, 2010 3:00 PM
Institute for Quantum Information Seminar
Speaker: Hugues de Riedmatten, University of Geneva
Location: Annenberg 107
Wednesday May 26, 2010 4:00 PM
Electrical Engineering Systems Seminar Series
Speaker: Namrata Vaswani, Iowa State University
Location: Moore B280
Tuesday June 1, 2010 12:00 PM
IST Lunch Bunch
Speaker: Yuval Cassuto, Hitachi Global Storage Technologies, San Jose Research Center
Location: Annenberg 105
Monday June 21, 2010 4:00 PM
Bioengineering Lecture Series
Speaker: Andreas Tögl, Advalytix (A Beckman Coulter Company)
Location: Moore B270
Friday August 6, 2010 3:00 PM
Institute for Quantum Information Seminar
Speaker: Mark Wilde, McGill University
Location: Annenberg 213
Department of Computing + Mathematical Sciences